Best Start

The Best Start Program is a home visiting program offered in partnership with Public Health Nursing and 5 other family resource centers across Prince Edward Island.  It is offered to parents with child from birth – 36 months. Your public health nurse will talk to you about the Best Start Program when she visits you and your baby and families who benefit the most from an in home support program will be matched with a Best Start Worker.  Best Start Workers provide ongoing weekly in home visiting support to these families.

Program Brochure

What will you and your Best Start Worker do together?

  • She will bring activities that you can do with your baby, which will help with growth and development;
  • Together you will discuss information about your child; e.g. health, safety, nutrition, language and other topics.  She will help you find answers to your questions;
  • Together you will work on goals that are important to you;
  • She can connect you with other community resources available for families

Best Start families have said…

“My Best Start Worker is a great source of information on parenting and family issues.  She is a good listener.”

“I feel more confident as a parent because of Best Start.”


Best Start Staff Directory

STRATFORD

Provincial Best Start Coordinator

Roberta Ward David   902-620-2698  /  robertawarddavid@chancesfamily.ca

 

Queens/Kings Best Start Site Manager

Joyce Cullen Foster  902 892-0267 / joycecullenfoster@chancesfamily.ca

Queens/Kings Best Start Supervisor

Michelle Boulter  michelleboulter@chancesfamily.ca

 

Queens Best Start Workers: 367-6744

Kendra Driscoll – kendradriscoll@hotmail.com

Bonnie Fitzpatrick -( on parental leave) bonnie_bstart@hotmail.com

Linda Gowing Burke – lindabeststart@hotmail.com

Krista MacEwen – kristamacewen75@hotmail.com

Candace MacPhail – (on parental leave) candace_m_beststart@hotmail.com

Patsy Wakelin – pwakelin2001@yahoo.ca

Katie Young – katie_beststart@hotmail.com

Valerie Young –valeriebeststart@hotmail.ca

Alicia Hegarty – aliciamac_13@hotmail.com

Tamara Harris – tamaraharris14@hotmail.com

Nikki MacArthur- nikkimacarthur@chancesfamily.ca

KINGS COUNTY

Kings Best Start Workers

Montague: 838-4600   /  Souris: 687-3928

Stacey Newell – staceylnewell@hotmail.com

Shannon White – whiteshannon@hotmail.com

 

PRINCE COUNTY

East/West Prince Best Start Site Manager

Summerside: 724-3097

Emily Ferguson – emilyferguson@chancesfamily.ca )on parental leave)

 

West Prince Best Start Supervisor

O’Leary: 859-1699

Vanessa Poirer – Acting East and West Prince site manager – vanessapoirer@chancesfamily.ca

 

East Prince Best Start Workers

Summerside: 724-3097

Kelli Doyle-MacKay – kellidoylemac@hotmail.com

Julie Hogan – jules_hogan@hotmail.com

Andrea MacCormac – amaccormac@hotmail.com

Debbie Riley – meabbie@yahoo.ca

Karen Viva – karenviva32@hotmail.com

 

West Prince Best Start Workers

O’Leary: 859-1699

Joni Campbell – jonicampbell@live.ca

Anne McCarthy – eamccarthy4@hotmail.com

Cindy Griffin – griffin-c2011@live.com